Drupal-lovers

Who love to Drupal

How to upgrade PHP version in XAMPP

Posted by drupallovers on May 16, 2012

Having been unable to find a definitive guide to upgrading the XAMPP PHP version to PHP 5.3.0rc2, I decided to improvise on a guide for installing the PHP 5.3 alpha.
My guide will describe how to upgrade the current XAMPP PHP version to the second release candidate of version 5.3. It is expected that this method will also work for the third release candidate when it is released later this month.

Step 1: Make backups

Before starting, make sure to backup any settings, custom modules and most importantly the htdocs directory, which contains your scripts and page resources. This directory is normally located atC:\xampp\htdocs\
Step 2: Preparation
  1. Download PHP 5.3.0rc2. I use the VC6 build in order to minimise any potential compatibility issues.
  2. It is also recommended that you download the latest Windows version of XAMPP. While this is an upgrade guide that shouldwork with previous versions of XAMPP, it is recommended that a fresh copy of the core files is used.
  3. Stop any instances of the Apache service that might be running.
Step 3: The upgrade
This guide will assume your XAMPP directory is C:\xampp\
  1. Extract the XAMPP archive to a directory of your choosing, I would recommend using the default C:\xampp\
  2. Extract the contents of the PHP archive to C:\xampp\php\, overwriting the contents of this directory with the new files.
  3. Open the file C:\xampp\apache\conf\extra\httpd-xampp.conf and ensure the following lines are present in this order:
    LoadFile "/xampp/php/php5ts.dll"
    LoadModule php5_module "/xampp/apache/bin/php5apache2_2.dll"
  4. Replace C:\xampp\php\php.ini with C:\xampp\php\php.ini-dist
    Uncomment the lines:

    ;extension=php_mbstring.dll
    ;extension=php_pdo_sqlite.dll
    Replace the line
    magic_quotes_gpc = On
    with
    magic_quotes_gpc = Off
  5. Copy all files in the C:\xampp\php\ to C:\xampp\apache\bin\ (do not copy the subdirectories or their contents).
After following the above steps, restart your Apache service (this can be done using C:\xampp\xampp-control.exe or manually through the control panel/command prompt). Your PHPinfo should indicate that the upgrade has been successful.
I will update this post if I discover any problems from using this method, or a cleaner (automated) means of performing the upgrade.

25 Responses to “How to upgrade PHP version in XAMPP”

  1. If you are going for finest contents like I do,
    only pay a visit this web page every day because it gives
    feature contents, thanks

  2. I always emailed this webpage post page to all my contacts, for the reason
    that if like to read it afterward my contacts will too.

  3. I tend not to drop a lot of comments, but i did a few searching and wound
    up here How to upgrade PHP version in XAMPP Drupal-lovers.
    And I actually do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright. Is it only me or does it look like some of the responses appear as if they are left by brain dead folks?😛 And, if you are writing on additional places, I’d like to follow everything new you have to
    post. Could you make a list of every one of your shared pages
    like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  4. I absolutely love your site.. Excellent colors & theme.
    Did you make this amazing site yourself? Please reply back as I’m trying to create my own personal site and want to know where you got this from or exactly what the theme is called. Thanks!

  5. Luther said

    The clearness inside your post is just nice while i could assume you’re a master using this subject.

  6. Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the information you present here and can’t wait
    to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyways, awesome site!

  7. Very good article! We will be linking to this great post on our
    site. Keep up the great writing.

  8. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did
    you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz reply as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. kudos

  9. Greetings! I’ve been following your site for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Humble Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the great work!

  10. veganism said

    I’m curious to find out what blog system you have been utilizing? I’m having some small security
    issues with my latest website and I’d like to find something more secure. Do you have any recommendations?

  11. I just get Free psn code thats works perfect , so I give this website a big VOUCH.

    I cant belive it,, but this website is LEGIT.
    You must seee it and get your free game card here.

    Dont miss this!
    I am very greatful for this.
    Thank you

  12. Louisa said

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this fantastic blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for
    book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to new updates and will share this blog
    with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  13. Hi there, I enjoy reading through your post. I wanted to write a
    little comment to support you.

  14. What i do not understood is in truth how you’re now not really a lot more smartly-preferred than you might be now. You are so intelligent. You understand therefore considerably with regards to this subject, produced me in my view believe it from so many numerous angles. Its like men and women are not involved except it is one thing to accomplish with Lady gaga! Your personal stuffs outstanding. Always take care of it up!

  15. Thank you for another informative web site.

    Where else may I get that kind of info written in such an ideal way?

    I’ve a challenge that I’m simply now operating on, and I have been at the look
    out for such info.

  16. tododias said

    Do you have a spam issue on this site; I also am a blogger,
    and I was curious about your situation; we have
    created some nice practices and we are looking to trade techniques with other
    folks, please shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  17. Hi, This is a Excellent post. I was checking this blog
    continuously and I am impressed! Very helpful information especially
    the last part) I appreciate such information very much.
    I was looking for this certain information for a long time.
    Thank you and good luck to you. Many thanks!

  18. I am a student just learning more about this business and I truly enjoyed reading it.
    Keep up the nice work! Cheers!

  19. Hi friends, pleasant article and pleasant arguments commented at this
    place, I am actually enjoying by these.

  20. Anonymous said

    I love to disseminate information that I’ve accumulated with the 12 months to assist improve team performance.

  21. Josephine said

    It’s really a nice and useful piece of info.
    I am glad that you just shared this helpful information with us.
    Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  22. Appreciating the time and effort you put into your blog and detailed information you present.

    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed information.

    Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  23. Vernell said

    Summarily, the question of acoustic versus digital boils down to a matter of authenticity versus everything else.

    Be open to every new learning chance and techniques that your coach gives you.
    You probably will not be in a position to get a great deal of a low cost on a Ketron
    digital piano, as these pianos are not extremely well-liked
    and there is not a great deal opposition on-line.

  24. It’s actually a cool and useful piece of info. I am glad that you simply shared this helpful info with us.

    Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  25. Heey Iknow this is off topic but I was wondering
    if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog thjat automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for
    quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some
    experience witth something like this. Please let
    me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading
    your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

Leave a Reply

 
